- The Three Requirements at a Glance
- Active SGMP Membership: The Gate Most People Overlook
- The 12-Month Hospitality Experience Requirement
- The Mandatory Course and What It Covers
- What the Public Materials Do Not Require
- Fee Mechanics: What $649 Covers and What It Doesn't
- Exam Format Candidates Need to Know Before Enrolling
- The 90-Day Window and Attempt Limits
- Checking Your Readiness Against the Seven Course Sections
- Keeping the Credential: Renewal Requirements
- Who Fits the Profile and Where They Work
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Three requirements apply: active SGMP membership, at least 12 months of full-time hospitality experience, and completion of the required course.
- The $649 fee bundles the course, manual, and exam, but SGMP membership is a separate, additional cost.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, takes two hours, and requires 85 out of 100 points to pass.
- Course and exam must be completed within 90 days; the current portal allows two attempts before course repetition.
The Three Requirements at a Glance
The Certified Government Meeting Professional credential, offered by the Society of Government Meeting Professionals (SGMP), has a short eligibility list compared with many professional certifications. There is no multi-page application, no reference letters, and no degree gate in the published materials. Instead, three conditions stand between you and the exam:
- Active SGMP membership at the time you enroll and sit for the exam.
- At least 12 months of full-time hospitality experience.
- Completion of the required SGMP course, which is delivered through the SGMP learning portal.
Everything else on this page elaborates on those three conditions, the money and deadlines attached to them, and how to judge whether you are ready to begin. If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, our overview What Is CGMP Certification? covers the basics, and the CGMP Certification hub page links the rest of the series.
Active SGMP Membership: The Gate Most People Overlook
The membership requirement is the one candidates most often discover late. According to the reviewed public materials, active SGMP membership is required and is billed in addition to the $649 course, manual, and exam package. No non-member exam price has been verified, which means you should plan on membership as a mandatory prerequisite instead of an optional discount path.
Why membership matters beyond enrollment
Membership is not a one-time checkbox. It also reappears at renewal: maintaining the credential requires active membership and ongoing involvement with the society. If you let membership lapse, you jeopardize your standing even after you have passed the exam. Treat it as a continuing commitment rather than a hurdle you clear once.
What to confirm before you pay
- The current membership fee for your category, since this figure is separate from the exam package and not covered in the verified facts here.
- Whether your membership will remain active through the entire 90-day course-and-exam window.
- Whether your employer reimburses membership dues, course fees, or both.
For a full breakdown of how these line items stack up, see CGMP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
The 12-Month Hospitality Experience Requirement
The experience prerequisite is stated as at least 12 months of full-time hospitality experience. The published facts do not break this down further, so avoid assuming details that SGMP has not stated, such as a specific job-title list, a requirement that the experience be government-specific, or a formal verification procedure. What is clear is the floor: a full year of full-time work in hospitality.
How to think about whether your background counts
Hospitality is a broad field. Candidates who plan or support meetings, events, lodging, catering, travel, or venue operations are the natural fits. Because the exact qualifying roles are not itemized in the verified facts, the safest approach is to confirm directly with SGMP if your experience is adjacent rather than obvious. That might include roles in event coordination, conference services, or travel management where hospitality is part of the job but not the title.
The Mandatory Course and What It Covers
You cannot sit for the CGMP exam without completing the required course. The course is delivered through the SGMP learning portal and is bundled into the $649 fee along with the manual and exam. Successful completion earns 21 contact hours. Those 21 hours describe training credit, not an exam timer, so do not confuse them with the two-hour exam length.
The course is built on federal rules, regulations, and laws, but it is also relevant to state and local government employees. The public course outline identifies a 2023 manual revision with sections updated as needed. No separate 2026 version or newly weighted blueprint has been verified, so be cautious about any source claiming to present an official 2026 domain-weight breakdown.
The seven course sections
SGMP's course is organized into seven sections. These function as unweighted preparation scope rather than an official, weighted exam blueprint. The percentage weight of each area on the exam remains unpublished, so you should prepare across all seven rather than betting on a perceived favorite.
Domain 1: The Basics
The foundation covers meeting planning basics, the starting vocabulary and framework for everything that follows.
- Meeting planning basics
- The administrative "About SGMP" and "About the certification" bullets are not treated as technical exam topics
Domain 2: Federal Rules
This is the section that most distinguishes government meeting planning from commercial planning.
- Funding
- Traveling
- Contracts
- Procurement
- Ethics
- ADA
Domain 3: Prepare and Plan
The pre-event work of sourcing, negotiating, and budgeting.
- RFP
- Fed Biz Opps (retained as the published course heading; not asserted to name the current procurement platform)
- Negotiations
- Budget
- Sustainable Meetings
Domain 4: Facilities & Services
Selecting and working with venues and the services around them.
- Venues
- Site Selection
- Pre and Post Con Meetings
- Exhibits
Domain 5: Logistics
The operational mechanics of moving people and managing exposure.
- Risk Management
- Registration
- Reservations
- Transportation
Domain 6: The Government Meeting
Execution-phase topics that shape the attendee experience.
- Marketing and Promotion
- Speakers and Press
- Program Materials
- Food and Beverage
- Technology
Domain 7: Doing It Right
Protocol-oriented topics specific to official gatherings.
- Protocol and VIPs
- Spouse and Guest Programs
Taken together, these seven sections contain 27 technical subtopics. For a deeper walkthrough of what each area asks of you, read CGMP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.
What the Public Materials Do Not Require
Equally useful is knowing what is absent. Based on the reviewed public sources, the following are not stated as requirements:
- A college degree. No degree requirement is stated.
- Professional references. No reference-count requirement is stated.
- Prior government employment. The facts call for hospitality experience, not federal service, though the course content is clearly government-oriented.
"Not stated" is not the same as "confirmed not required," so verify with SGMP if any of these matter to your situation. But on the face of the published materials, the barrier to entry is lower than many professional credentials.
| Requirement | Status in Published Materials |
|---|---|
| Active SGMP membership | Required (cost is additional to the $649 package) |
| Hospitality experience | At least 12 months, full-time |
| Required course completion | Required; includes manual and earns 21 contact hours |
| College degree | No requirement stated |
| Reference count | No requirement stated |
| Government employment | Not stated as a requirement |
Fee Mechanics: What $649 Covers and What It Doesn't
The headline price is $649, and it bundles three things: the mandatory course, the manual, and the exam. That bundling matters because you cannot purchase the exam alone; the course is part of qualifying.
What the $649 does not include is the SGMP membership you must hold. Because no non-member exam price has been verified, the realistic total cost of getting certified is the $649 package plus whatever membership dues apply to you. Budget for both before you start.
Key Takeaway
When comparing the CGMP to other credentials on price, add the membership cost to the $649 before drawing conclusions. The package fee alone understates what you will actually spend to qualify and sit for the exam.
Whether that total is justified depends on your career goals, which we analyze in Is the CGMP Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Exam Format Candidates Need to Know Before Enrolling
Understanding the exam shape helps you decide when to enroll and how to use your course time.
- Questions: 100 multiple-choice questions.
- Scale: 100-point scale; no extra unscored block is disclosed.
- Time: two hours.
- Passing score: 85 out of 100 points or higher.
- Delivery: through the SGMP learning portal; a separate commercial testing provider has not been identified.
An 85 percent threshold is demanding for a certification built on a defined course. It tells you that near-complete command of the course material is expected, not just general familiarity. Details such as proctoring, open-book rules, and calculator policy are unverified in the sources reviewed, so confirm them in the portal before exam day rather than assuming.
For a closer look at the scoring line, see CGMP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass, and for realistic expectations about challenge level, read How Hard Is the CGMP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. Note that the official pass rate is not publicly disclosed, a topic we address in CGMP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
The 90-Day Window and Attempt Limits
Timing is a real qualification constraint here, not just a scheduling detail. The course and exam must be completed within 90 days. That is a single window covering both the learning and the testing, which rewards candidates who start with a plan.
Under the current portal, you get two attempts at the exam. If you do not pass in two attempts, you must repeat the course. An older 2020 policy conflicts with this, so rely on what the live portal states at the time you enroll rather than on older forum posts or archived documents.
Because there is only a narrow margin for retakes, build your own schedule around the window. The CGMP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling article walks through how to plan around the portal's timing.
Checking Your Readiness Against the Seven Course Sections
Before you enroll, a quick self-assessment against the seven sections tells you where your hospitality experience already helps and where the course will be genuinely new. A short planning approach tied to the actual content might look like this:
Federal Rules first
- Funding, Traveling, Contracts, Procurement, Ethics, ADA
- This is the least intuitive section for candidates from commercial hospitality, so give it the earliest and longest attention
Prepare and Plan, then Facilities & Services
- RFP, Negotiations, Budget, Sustainable Meetings
- Venues, Site Selection, Pre and Post Con Meetings, Exhibits
Logistics, The Government Meeting, Doing It Right
- Risk Management, Registration, Reservations, Transportation
- Marketing, Speakers and Press, Program Materials, Food and Beverage, Technology
- Protocol and VIPs, Spouse and Guest Programs
This sequence front-loads the government-specific rules and leaves the more familiar operational topics for later, which fits the 90-day window with room for review before your attempt. It is a scheduling suggestion, not an official weighting. For a full preparation approach, see CGMP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt and the quick-reference CGMP Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.
You can also use the CGMP practice tests to find out which sections need the most work before you commit your 90-day window.
Keeping the Credential: Renewal Requirements
Qualifying is the first step; staying certified has its own requirements. The credential renews on a three-year cycle and requires:
- Active SGMP membership.
- Ongoing involvement with the society.
- 15 approved contact hours, of which no more than five may be external hours.
- A $100 renewal fee.
There is also a restricted alternative near expiration: a $250 self-study and exam option. Because it is described as restricted, confirm eligibility with SGMP rather than treating it as a guaranteed fallback.
The renewal structure means the real long-term cost of the credential includes continued membership and contact-hour activity, which is worth factoring into your decision about whether to pursue it. For more on training pathways, see CGMP Training.
Who Fits the Profile and Where They Work
The qualification profile points to a specific kind of candidate: someone with at least a year of full-time hospitality experience who plans or supports meetings under government rules. The course content, built on federal rules and relevant to state and local employees, fits these audiences:
- Federal agency meeting and event planners who must navigate funding, travel, procurement, and ethics rules.
- State and local government staff organizing conferences, trainings, and public meetings.
- Hospitality and venue professionals who serve government clients and need fluency in government contracting and per-diem-style constraints.
- Contractors and meeting management firms that bid on government events and respond to RFPs.
For a look at where this credential shows up in hiring, see CGMP Jobs, and for compensation context without invented figures, see CGMP Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.
Frequently Asked Questions
No degree requirement is stated in the reviewed public materials. The stated prerequisites are active SGMP membership, at least 12 months of full-time hospitality experience, and completion of the required course. If a degree matters to your situation, confirm directly with SGMP.
No. The $649 covers the mandatory course, the manual, and the exam. Active SGMP membership is required and is an additional cost. No non-member exam price has been verified, so plan to hold membership before you enroll.
The course and exam must be completed within 90 days. The current portal allows two exam attempts, after which the course must be repeated. An older 2020 policy conflicts with this, so verify the current terms in the portal when you enroll.
You need 85 out of 100 points or higher on the 100-question multiple-choice exam, which runs two hours. The official pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so avoid sources that cite a specific percentage as fact.
Renewal is on a three-year cycle and requires active membership, ongoing involvement, 15 approved contact hours with no more than five external, and a $100 fee. A restricted $250 self-study and exam alternative exists near expiration.
If you meet the three requirements and are ready to start, review the full requirement details at CGMP Requirements 2026 and test your knowledge with the practice questions at our main practice test site.