- What CGMP Stands For on This Site
- The Society Behind the Credential
- What the Credential Signals to Employers
- The Seven Course Sections Behind the Exam
- Exam Format and Scoring Mechanics
- Eligibility, Fees, and the 90-Day Window
- Keeping the Credential: The Three-Year Cycle
- Untangling the Acronym Confusion
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Course Sections
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CGMP here means Certified Government Meeting Professional, issued through the Society of Government Meeting Professionals (SGMP).
- The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in two hours; you need 85 out of 100 points to pass.
- The $649 fee bundles the mandatory course, manual, and exam, but active SGMP membership is a separate requirement.
- Course content is built on federal rules, regulations, and laws, yet it also applies to state and local employees.
What CGMP Stands For on This Site
On this site, CGMP means Certified Government Meeting Professional. It is a professional credential for people who plan, source, fund, and run meetings and events within government rules. It is not a manufacturing standard, not a pharmaceutical quality term, and not any of the other credentials that happen to share the same four letters. If you arrived here searching for the acronym and want to confirm which one we mean, the short version is this: a meeting planner's credential, granted through the Society of Government Meeting Professionals.
The words in the title map neatly onto what the certification is about:
- Certified means you completed a required course and passed a scored exam, rather than simply paying a membership fee.
- Government signals that the content centers on the rules public-sector planners operate under: funding limits, travel regulations, contracting, procurement, ethics, and accessibility obligations.
- Meeting Professional places it in the events and hospitality-adjacent career family, where site selection, logistics, food and beverage, and program materials are daily work.
For a broader orientation, our related explainers cover the same ground from different angles: What Does CGMP Stand For? and What Is CGMP Certification? are good companions to this page.
The Society Behind the Credential
The certification belongs to the Society of Government Meeting Professionals (SGMP). The exam is delivered through the SGMP learning portal; no separate commercial testing provider has been identified in the public materials we reviewed. That matters for candidates because the whole path, from course enrollment to exam attempt to renewal tracking, runs through one organization rather than a third-party testing center network.
SGMP membership is also baked into the credential. Active membership is required to sit for the exam and to renew the certification later. This is a meaningful distinction from credentials that you can earn as a purely independent candidate: with CGMP, the membership relationship is part of the deal, and it is billed in addition to the $649 course-manual-exam package. Because we have no verified non-member exam price, we do not quote one. If you want the full cost picture, see our CGMP certification cost breakdown.
What the Credential Signals to Employers
Government meetings are not ordinary corporate events. A planner working for a federal agency, or for a state or local entity that follows similar practices, has to answer questions a commercial planner never faces: Is this expenditure an allowable use of appropriated funds? Does this travel arrangement comply with the applicable rules? Was the venue selected through a defensible procurement process? Can every attendee, including those with disabilities, fully participate?
The CGMP credential tells a hiring manager that you have been trained on precisely those questions. The course is based on federal rules, regulations, and laws, and SGMP positions it as relevant to state and local employees as well. Typical places this skill set is valued include:
- Federal agencies and their conference or training offices
- State and local government departments that run recurring conferences and stakeholder events
- Contractors and event firms that support government clients and need staff who understand the compliance environment
- Associations and nonprofits that hold meetings with government participation
We do not cite salary figures here because we have no verified numbers to share. For a qualitative look at career outcomes, read our CGMP salary guide and the CGMP jobs overview, and weigh them against the ROI analysis.
The Seven Course Sections Behind the Exam
Here is a critical honesty point: SGMP's seven required course sections are the best public guide to what you will study, but they are not an official weighted exam blueprint. The official count of scored domains, the percentage weight of each, and which area carries the most weight are not published. What we can do is walk through the seven sections and the 27 technical subtopics they contain, treating them as unweighted preparation scope. (Two administrative bullets under "About SGMP" and "About the certification" are not technical exam material, so we exclude them.)
Domain 1: The Basics
The foundation section covers meeting planning basics. Treat it as the vocabulary and workflow layer that every later section assumes you already understand.
- Core meeting planning concepts and sequencing of planning tasks
Domain 2: Federal Rules
This is the section that most distinguishes CGMP from a general event-planning credential. It holds six subtopics, and each one is a compliance lens.
- Funding
- Traveling
- Contracts
- Procurement
- Ethics
- ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act accessibility)
Domain 3: Prepare and Plan
Where compliance meets early-stage planning. Expect scenario-style thinking about how to solicit, negotiate, and budget responsibly.
- RFP
- Fed Biz Opps (retained as the published course heading; we do not assert it names the current procurement platform)
- Negotiations
- Budget
- Sustainable Meetings
Domain 4: Facilities & Services
The physical-space decisions: choosing where the meeting happens and coordinating around it.
- Venues
- Site Selection
- Pre and Post Con Meetings
- Exhibits
Domain 5: Logistics
The operational machinery that keeps attendees moving and risks contained.
- Risk Management
- Registration
- Reservations
- Transportation
Domain 6: The Government Meeting
The largest list of subtopics by count, covering the content and delivery of the event itself.
- Marketing and Promotion
- Speakers and Press
- Program Materials
- Food and Beverage
- Technology
Domain 7: Doing It Right
The finishing touches that distinguish a competent event from a well-run government one.
- Protocol and VIPs
- Spouse and Guest Programs
Counting them up: 1 + 6 + 5 + 4 + 4 + 5 + 2 gives the 27 technical subtopics. For a deeper walk through each area, see our complete guide to the CGMP exam domains.
| Course Section | Number of Subtopics | Character of Content |
|---|---|---|
| The Basics | 1 | Foundational planning concepts |
| Federal Rules | 6 | Compliance and regulation |
| Prepare and Plan | 5 | Sourcing, budgeting, negotiation |
| Facilities & Services | 4 | Venues and on-site services |
| Logistics | 4 | Operations and risk |
| The Government Meeting | 5 | Content and delivery |
| Doing It Right | 2 | Protocol and hospitality |
Exam Format and Scoring Mechanics
The published exam structure is straightforward:
- 100 multiple-choice questions on a 100-point scale
- Two hours to complete the exam
- 85 out of 100 points required to pass
- No additional unscored question block has been disclosed
That 85 threshold is a high bar. It leaves room for only a small number of misses, which is why the compliance-oriented content deserves precise, not approximate, understanding. Questions about funding, procurement, ethics, and ADA obligations tend to reward knowing the specific rule rather than a general sense of "best practice." Our CGMP passing score article explores what 85 means in practice, and How Hard Is the CGMP Exam? discusses difficulty. Note that the pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so any article quoting one for this credential should be treated skeptically; our pass rate page explains what can and cannot be said.
Do not confuse the clocks
Three different numbers float around this credential, and they measure different things:
- Two hours is the exam timer.
- 21 contact hours are earned on successful completion of the course, as a professional-development credit, not as a time limit.
- 90 days is the window in which the course and exam must be completed, not the exam length.
Mixing these up is an easy mistake. The 21 contact hours and the 90-day access window are not exam timers.
Eligibility, Fees, and the 90-Day Window
Who can sit for the exam
The stated requirements are modest in number but specific:
- Active SGMP membership
- At least 12 months of full-time hospitality experience
- Completion of the required course
No degree requirement and no reference-count requirement are stated. If you want the eligibility details laid out step by step, see CGMP requirements.
What the $649 covers
| Item | Included in $649? |
|---|---|
| Mandatory course | Yes |
| Course manual | Yes |
| Exam | Yes |
| Active SGMP membership | No (additional and required) |
Attempts and the 90-day limit
The course and exam must be completed within 90 days. The current portal allows two attempts, after which the course must be repeated. An older 2020 policy conflicts with this, so if you find a forum thread or PDF citing a different attempt rule, defer to what your portal currently shows. For scheduling concerns, our CGMP exam dates guide addresses timing; because the exam is tied to your course window rather than a fixed public testing calendar, the clock that matters most is your own 90 days.
Key Takeaway
Start the 90-day window only when you can actually protect study time. Two attempts sounds generous, but a failed first attempt eats into the same window, so build a schedule where you finish the manual with real review time left before your first sitting.
Keeping the Credential: The Three-Year Cycle
CGMP is not a one-and-done credential. It renews on a three-year cycle, and renewal requires:
- Active SGMP membership
- Ongoing involvement with the Society
- 15 approved contact hours, with no more than five of those from external sources
- A $100 renewal fee
There is also a restricted alternative near expiration: a $250 self-study and exam option. Because it is restricted, treat it as a fallback rather than a plan, and confirm eligibility with SGMP before assuming it will be available to you.
The renewal design reveals something about the credential's philosophy. By capping external contact hours at five, SGMP pushes certificate holders to stay engaged with the Society's own programming rather than collecting credits entirely elsewhere.
Untangling the Acronym Confusion
Search results for "CGMP" can be messy because several unrelated terms share the letters. This site's pages about the acronym are all about the same thing, the government meeting planner credential, and they overlap in scope. If you want a different framing of the same topic, these pages approach it from other angles: What Is CGMP?, What Is A CGMP?, What Does CGMP Mean?, and the hub page on CGMP certification.
A practical test for whether a source is talking about our credential: look for mentions of SGMP, government meetings, federal rules, ADA, procurement, and site selection. If instead you see references to manufacturing practices, drug production, or facility inspections, that source is describing something else entirely, and none of its facts apply here.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Course Sections
You do not need a generic study system for this credential; you need a sequence that respects how the content builds. Because the course is the mandatory path, the most sensible plan is to shape your review around the seven sections, front-loading the one where precision matters most.
The Basics, then Federal Rules
- Work through meeting planning basics quickly to establish vocabulary
- Slow down on Federal Rules: funding, traveling, contracts, procurement, ethics, and ADA
- Build a one-line summary for each of the six compliance areas
Prepare and Plan, plus Facilities & Services
- Connect RFP, negotiation, and budget back to the procurement and contracts rules
- Link venues and site selection to ADA and sustainability concerns
Logistics, The Government Meeting, Doing It Right
- Cover risk management, registration, reservations, and transportation
- Review marketing, speakers, materials, food and beverage, and technology
- Finish with protocol, VIPs, and spouse and guest programs
Mixed practice
- Take timed sets of 100 questions to rehearse the two-hour pace
- Revisit every compliance miss before your first attempt
Six weeks is a sample rhythm that fits comfortably inside the 90-day window, not a prescribed schedule. For a complete plan, see the CGMP study guide, and for compact review use the CGMP cheat sheet. If you want structured preparation resources, the CGMP training overview explains how the course relates to independent practice. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, our CGMP practice tests let you rehearse the 100-question format, and you can browse the full CGMP Exam Prep library for additional question sets.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Government Meeting Professional, a credential from the Society of Government Meeting Professionals. It is unrelated to other certifications or standards that share the same acronym.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions on a 100-point scale, with two hours allowed. You need at least 85 points to pass. Pass rates are not publicly disclosed.
The $649 fee covers the mandatory course, the manual, and the exam. Active SGMP membership is required and is additional, and no non-member exam price has been verified.
The course and exam must be completed within 90 days. The current portal allows two attempts, after which the course must be repeated. An older 2020 policy conflicts, so confirm in your portal.
Yes, it renews every three years. Renewal requires active membership, ongoing involvement, 15 approved contact hours (no more than five external), and a $100 fee, with a restricted $250 self-study and exam alternative near expiration.