- The Number: 85 Out of 100
- How the Scoring Works on a 100-Point Scale
- What the Public Record Does Not Tell You
- What Your 85 Points Have to Cover
- Attempts, the 90-Day Window, and Retake Mechanics
- Fees and Eligibility Behind the Score
- Building a Plan Around the Cut Score
- After You Pass: Renewal and Contact Hours
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Government Meeting Professional exam is 100 multiple-choice questions, and you need at least 85 points to pass.
- The cut score sits at 85 on a 100-point scale, so you can miss at most 15 questions.
- SGMP does not publish a weighted blueprint, so prepare evenly across all seven course sections.
- The $649 fee includes the course, manual, and exam; active SGMP membership is required and costs extra.
The Number: 85 Out of 100
If you are researching the Certified Government Meeting Professional (CGMP) credential from the Society of Government Meeting Professionals (SGMP), the passing score is the single most important number on the page. The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions on a 100-point scale, and you need 85 points or higher to pass. SGMP's current course-outline page confirms both the 100-question format and the requirement of at least 85 correct answers.
That is a demanding threshold. Many professional certification exams set their cut scores well below this level, so an 85 requirement tells you something about how SGMP views the credential: it is meant to certify working command of government meeting rules, not a passing familiarity with them. If you are still deciding how much effort to commit, our guide on how hard the CGMP exam is puts that threshold in context alongside the content you need to learn.
How the Scoring Works on a 100-Point Scale
The scoring structure is unusually transparent for a niche credential. The published facts describe a one-to-one relationship: 100 multiple-choice questions, a 100-point scale, and a pass mark of 85. No extra unscored block of experimental questions has been disclosed, which means the public record points to every item counting toward your result.
| Scoring Element | What SGMP Publishes |
|---|---|
| Question format | Multiple choice |
| Number of questions | 100 |
| Score scale | 100 points |
| Passing score | 85 or higher |
| Exam time | Two hours |
| Unscored items | No extra unscored block disclosed |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Two hours for 100 questions works out to roughly a minute and a quarter per item. That pace is comfortable for recall questions on topics like ethics or ADA obligations, but it can feel tight on scenario-style items that ask you to weigh contract, procurement, and budget considerations at once. Practice reading a question, eliminating wrong answers, and committing, rather than rereading each stem several times.
Scaled score versus raw score
Because the exam is described as a 100-question test scored on a 100-point scale, the simplest reading is that each correct answer equals one point. SGMP has not published any statistical equating or scaled-score methodology, so do not assume the passing standard shifts between forms. Plan for the straightforward interpretation: 85 correct out of 100.
What the Public Record Does Not Tell You
Honest preparation means knowing where the published information stops. Several details that candidates often ask about are simply not verified in the public sources reviewed, and it is better to say so than to guess:
- Pass rate: SGMP does not publicly disclose it. If you see a specific percentage quoted elsewhere for this credential, treat it with suspicion. Our CGMP pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said from the available data.
- Domain weights: No verified weighted exam blueprint exists in the public record, and the largest-weighted area is unknown.
- Proctoring and open-book rules: Current proctoring, open-book, and calculator policies are unverified. Confirm them in your SGMP learning portal before exam day.
- Testing vendor: The exam is delivered through the SGMP learning portal; no separate commercial testing provider has been identified.
- A 2026-specific version: The course outline references a 2023 manual revision. No separate 2026 exam version or newly dated blueprint is verified.
What Your 85 Points Have to Cover
Since the exam draws on SGMP's required course, the most reliable map of what is tested is the course structure itself. The seven sections below are SGMP's current course sections, presented as unweighted preparation scope rather than an official exam blueprint. With no published percentages, a sound strategy is to treat every section as potentially significant, because 15 misses is a thin cushion if one weak area drags down a cluster of questions. For a deeper walk through each area, see our complete guide to the seven CGMP content areas.
Domain 1: The Basics
Meeting planning fundamentals. This is the foundation the rest of the course builds on, so expect vocabulary and process questions that frame later material.
- Core meeting planning concepts and terminology
- How government meetings differ from commercial events
Domain 2: Federal Rules
The rules-heavy section, and the one most specific to government work. The course is built on federal rules, regulations, and laws, and is also relevant to state and local employees.
- Funding
- Traveling
- Contracts
- Procurement
- Ethics
- ADA
Domain 3: Prepare and Plan
The pre-meeting planning and sourcing work that precedes any contract signature.
- RFP
- Fed Biz Opps (retained as the published course heading; not asserted to be the current procurement platform)
- Negotiations
- Budget
- Sustainable Meetings
Domain 4: Facilities & Services
Choosing and working with the places and vendors that host the meeting.
- Venues
- Site Selection
- Pre and Post Con Meetings
- Exhibits
Domain 5: Logistics
The operational mechanics of getting people registered, housed, and moved.
- Risk Management
- Registration
- Reservations
- Transportation
Domain 6: The Government Meeting
Execution-level topics for the event itself.
- Marketing and Promotion
- Speakers and Press
- Program Materials
- Food and Beverage
- Technology
Domain 7: Doing It Right
The finishing touches that distinguish a well-run government event.
- Protocol and VIPs
- Spouse and Guest Programs
Across the seven sections there are 27 technical subtopics in total. Two administrative bullets in the course outline (About SGMP and About the certification) are not technical exam topics, so you do not need to study them as content. For a term-by-term review once you have mastered the structure, our CGMP cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts.
Where an 85 is most at risk
Without published weights, you cannot know which section carries the most questions, but you can reason about where candidates are likely to lose points. Federal Rules covers six subtopics that each involve specific legal and regulatory obligations, and these tend to reward precision rather than general understanding. A candidate who is comfortable with venues and food and beverage from prior hospitality experience may still stumble on procurement, ethics, and ADA questions. Because the eligibility requirement calls for at least 12 months of full-time hospitality experience, many candidates arrive with strong operational instincts and thinner knowledge of government-specific rules. Shore up the rules-based areas first.
Attempts, the 90-Day Window, and Retake Mechanics
The passing score does not stand alone; it operates inside a time-limited structure. According to current information, the course and exam must be completed within 90 days. The current portal allows two attempts, after which you must repeat the course. An older 2020 policy conflicts with this, so rely on what your portal and SGMP staff confirm for your enrollment rather than on archived descriptions.
The practical consequence is that your first attempt matters. Two attempts is a safety net, not a plan. If you fail both, you repeat the course, which means more time and likely more cost. Our CGMP exam dates and scheduling guide covers how to fit the 90-day window around your work calendar so that you are not rushing the exam at the end.
Fees and Eligibility Behind the Score
Before you worry about reaching 85, make sure you qualify to sit for the exam and understand what you are paying for.
- Fee: $649 includes the mandatory course, manual, and exam.
- Membership: Active SGMP membership is additional and required. No non-member exam price is verified, so do not assume one exists.
- Experience: At least 12 months of full-time hospitality experience.
- Course completion: The required course must be completed as part of the process.
- Not stated: No degree requirement and no reference-count requirement are stated.
For the full pricing picture, including how membership changes your total outlay, see our CGMP certification cost breakdown. For a step-by-step eligibility check, our CGMP requirements guide walks through each prerequisite.
Building a Plan Around the Cut Score
Because the course supplies both the manual and the exam content, your preparation should start with the manual. The 2023 manual revision is the current published edition, with sections updated as needed. Use a short, domain-ordered plan that front-loads the rules-heavy material, since that is where government-specific knowledge is hardest to pick up from general event experience.
The Basics and Federal Rules
- Read the fundamentals, then work through funding, traveling, contracts, procurement, ethics, and ADA slowly
- Write your own one-line rule for each of the six Federal Rules topics
Prepare and Plan, plus Facilities & Services
- Cover RFP, negotiations, budget, and sustainable meetings
- Pair venues and site selection with pre and post con meetings and exhibits
Logistics, The Government Meeting, and Doing It Right
- Review risk management, registration, reservations, and transportation
- Finish marketing, speakers and press, program materials, food and beverage, technology, protocol, and guest programs
Timed practice at the 85 standard
- Take full 100-question practice sets in two-hour blocks
- Review every miss and revisit any section where you drop below the 85 mark
Treat your practice scores as a test against the real standard: if you are consistently landing in the low 80s on timed sets, you are not ready, because the 15-miss ceiling leaves little room for exam-day nerves. Our CGMP study guide expands on how to structure these review cycles, and you can sharpen your timing with questions on our main practice test site.
Key Takeaway
Aim to score comfortably above 85 on timed practice, not just at it. A practice average sitting right on the line leaves no buffer for the questions that will inevitably surprise you on exam day.
After You Pass: Renewal and Contact Hours
Clearing 85 earns you the credential and 21 contact hours, but the certification is not permanent. It renews on a three-year cycle and requires active SGMP membership throughout.
| Renewal Element | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Cycle length | Three years |
| Membership | Active SGMP membership |
| Involvement | Ongoing involvement required |
| Contact hours | 15 approved hours, with no more than five external hours |
| Renewal fee | $100 |
| Alternative | Restricted $250 self-study/exam option near expiration |
If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our ROI analysis of the CGMP certification and the CGMP salary guide cover the career side, and the CGMP jobs overview describes the kinds of government meeting roles where the credential carries weight. Candidates who want broader background on the credential itself can start with what CGMP certification is.
Frequently Asked Questions
You need 85 points or higher on a 100-point scale. The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, so you can miss at most 15 and still pass.
The exam is two hours long. Do not confuse this with the 90-day course and exam completion window or the 21 contact hours you earn on successful completion, which are not exam timers.
The current SGMP portal allows two attempts within the 90-day window, after which you repeat the course. An older 2020 policy conflicts with this, so confirm your specific terms with SGMP.
SGMP has not published a verified weighted blueprint, so the largest-weighted area is unknown. Prepare across all seven course sections, with extra attention to the Federal Rules topics.
The $649 fee covers the mandatory course, manual, and exam. Active SGMP membership is required and is an additional cost; no non-member exam price is verified.